The Ackerman-Allen Course is a Pete Dye design, 18-hole, parkland style, championship golf course on the grounds of Purdue University. Originally, the course was known as Purdue South and was built in 1934 by architect Bill Diddel. In 1961, the South Course hosted the NCAA Championship. Purdue was the eventual team champion, and the individual winner that year was Jack Nicklaus. In 1968, the course was redesigned by Larry Packard and in 1998, the course was developed further and renamed Ackerman Hills, in recognition of Jim and Lois Ackerman and their support of Purdue Athletics.